September Ipsy Bag Review and Giveaway!

I got a pleasant surprise today when I opened my mail box…September’s Ipsy Bag!! If your new to Ipsy, read my past post all about the company HERE. By the way, I just have to say I think this is the fastest i’ve ever received it (my tracking e-mail wasn’t even sent to me yet!)

So I got right to work swatching and testing the products…here is a pic of what I received:

ipsy collage

So this month I got:

A Full Size Cailyn Tinted Lip Balm in Big Apple – $19

Full Size Nyx Single Eye Shadow in Lanikai – $4.50 (Note: I can’t find that exact shade on the website…)

Full Size Starlooks Kohl Eye Pencil in Obsidian – $12

Sample Size “It’s So Big” Mascara from Elizabeth Mott – Approx $8 value

2 Single Use Packets of Skyn Iceland Hydro Cool Firming Eye Gels – Approx Value $7.50

Total Bag Value: $51

 Out of the products I tried I like the Cailyn Tinted Lip balm the best…it is very pigmented and thick so you only need a tiny bit. It gives a matte finish, but I prefer to put a gloss over it. The NYX Eye Shadow wasn’t as pigmented as i’d hoped, i was thinking it was going to be a rich deep blue, but it turned out much lighter than that. I also had to apply it wet because it wasn’t very pigmented. I also tried 1 of the skyn iceland patches…i’m not really sold on these, to me it just felt like a cold wet washcloth on my eyes…but it was fun to try anyway! We also got samples of Michelle Phan’s new make-up line Em Cosmetics, the eye shadows were really pigmented and soft…however, the blush was not very pigmented and applied patchy. In the photo above I swatched it about 3 times!

ipsy look

Here is my look using the NYX Shadow and Cailyn Tinted lip Balm…on the L photo I used the brush it came with and applied it like a lipstick, it’s defiantly more of an evening look. For the photo on the right I applied gloss then used my finger to lightly apply some of the red balm over it, then topped it with more gloss. It gave a lighter red lip look that I will probably use more often! I am actually itching to try other colors from the Cailyn Lip Balm collection, the formula is really nice and will last a long time! You can also check out my video review of the bag on my YOUTUBE CHANNEL…I do a demo of the Eye Gels!

If your interested in signing up for Ipsy ($10/month) you can use my link HERE.

Ok, so now for the giveaway!!

prize

1 lucky reader will win all 4 products! Thank you for reading, and enter the giveaway HERE

Please Follow my blog with Bloglovin ~Kristina

13 thoughts on “September Ipsy Bag Review and Giveaway!

  1. I’m so glad you swatched the Em stuff. Ive been on the fence about it!
    I subscribe to Julep and ipsy and naturebox. I’ve been thinking about birchbox but everyone is saying such bad things about it!

    • Yah, Birchbox doesn’t seem to get very good reviews…I would love the get GlossyBox and The Wantable Box but they are out of my price range…=( Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I received the exact contents in my bag. I was bummed about getting the balm instead of the lipstick. However, I’ve got to try it out now after seeing your review!!

    I could be wrong, but I’m wondering if we got a discontinued NYX shade?

    • Hi! Thanks for commenting, I also believe it is a discontinued shade of shadow or something…What kind of balm did you get in your bag?

Leave me a Comment!

