October Ipsy Bag Review and Swatches!

october ipsy bag

My October (The Art of Beauty) bag was not my favorite…but thats what happens with subscription services, you never know what you are going to get. I have to say that I have been subscribed since January and this is the first bag that I feel comfortable saying that I don’t like all that much. It’s not terrible, but it seems like they used to be better…Anyway, here is my review!

My favorite thing in the bag is the polish, I dont have a color like it so I am very happy with it. Zoya makes great quality polishes (and they are a 4-free formula) I got the color Mason, it goes on very easily and covers very well in 2 coats. It also removes well too, with no staining of the fingers or nails. =) Most Zoya polishes retail for $8 (Right now through 11/10 if you buy 2 polishes you get 1 free + a Free Zoya Remove with the code IPSYZ3)

zoya swatch

My next favorite item was the Mineral Shadow from Bella Terra Mineral Cosmetics. I got the color Navy…I wish they chose a more wearable shade, but the fun thing about these mineral shadows is that you can use them 8 different ways (or so they say…) Here is how you can use these shadows:

1. Creamy Shadow

2. Matte Shadow

3. Eyeliner

4. Lip color (I’m thinking not so much with the blue LOL)

5. Nail Polish

6. Body Glitter

7. Mascara

8. Hair Streaks

I am defiantly interested in trying it as a mascara and nail polish! It retails for $ 15 (Right now through 11/15 you can get 50% off your purchase AND free shipping with code IPSY at checkout!) Here is my swatch of the shadow:

ipsy shadowbrush

The next thing I received is the Coastal Scents Medium Eye Shadow Brush. I swear I have heard lots of people rave about these brushes…maybe they make better quality ones, but this one kind of stinks. It is soft, but thats where the good stuff ends…my main gripe is the shedding (it sheds like a banshee!) I used it to apply the mineral shadow and you can see what the brush looked like after in the pic above. There were also bristles all over my hand. I don’t know about you, but I don’t like getting brush bristles in my eyes! Second of all it’s just BIG…from the long handle to the (medium) head, just seems too big to use for eyes in my opinion. This brush retails for $2.40 (Right now through 11/7, you can get 25% off any regular priced purchase with the code CS25)

I also got the SexyHair Spray Clay this stuff is kind of neat! Is smells good and gives you hair light dry hold and texture. Its great for when I want to do my hair wavy and I don’t want it to get all crunchy from hairspray. It kind of feels like  a dry shampoo without the “white cast” you can sometimes get. The 1.4 oz travel size retails for $8 (Right now through 11/15, you can get $5 off a purchase of $25 or more of any Sexy Hair products at ulta.com with the code 105339)

Lastly, I got the L.A. Fresh Oil-Free Face Cleansing Wipes. I didn’t review them because make-up wipes usually make me break out and I don’t need help in that department! =) I received a pack of 10 which retails for about $3.33. (Right now through 11/15 you can get 30% off your purchase at L.A. Fresh with code IPSYLOVE30 at checkout)

So, thats it! My bag ended up being worth $36 this month…still a great buy for only $10 a month! Hope you enjoyed my review…let me know in the comments below what you got in your bag or the link to your review!

If you don’t get IPSY, you can sign up for the waiting list HERE!)

Please Follow my blog with Bloglovin ~Kristina

Leave me a Comment!

