Sally Hansen Magnetic Polish Swatches and Review!

Screen shot 2013-11-25 at 8.48.52 AM

magnetic cover shot

I am usually a CVS girl, but last week I went to Walgreens to pick something up and noticed they had these Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Polishes on clearance…they were $2.60/ea. (down from $10) I had never tried magnetic polish before so I knew at that price I had to pick some up! Here’s how you apply it…

1.) Apply a base coat

2.) Apply 1 thin coat of polish to all 10 nails, let dry.

3.) Apply 1 thick coat of polish to ONE nail, then immediately hold the magnetic top about 1/8th to 1/4in. away from nail. Repeat ONE nail at a time until all nails are done.

Here are my swatches:

magnetic ionic indigo

magnetic electric emerald

magnetic red-y

SO…they are very pretty…but they are also tricky to work with. Here are a few of my tips for best results.

When using the magnet hold your nail sideways so you can see the space between your nail and the magnet, I had a few mishaps of the magnet touching my polish because I was putting it way too close. Hold the magnet still (it only needs a second to magnetize) so don’t move the magnet around because you wont get the wavy looking results, the whole nail will get dark. However you CAN keep applying coats of polish and re-doing the magnet until you get the look you want (I think a few nails I had like 4 coats…but the polish is thin and dries fairly quick, so it’s doable.) I also experimented a little and tried to hold the magnet vertical, so the stripes were running down the nail instead of across, but this only looked good on my thumb nail because it’s wider.

Overall, I really love the look of this polish, the Electric Emerald is my favorite! It’s pretty easy to work with once you get the hang of it…i’m going to stop by Walgreens again soon to see if they have any other colors left (they also had a brown, silver, black, copper, and purple)

magnetic spread

What are your thoughts? Have you tried magnetic polish before, or are you interested in trying it now?? Let me know in the comments section below!

Thank you so much for reading! xoxo Please SHARE my post and Follow my blog with Bloglovin ~Kristina

10 thoughts on “Sally Hansen Magnetic Polish Swatches and Review!

  1. WOW! Those colors are gorgeous! It’s such a unique-looking manicure. I think the green might be my favorite too…. but love all three colors on you. I never really understood the concept of magnetic nail polish before, but now I think it’s pretty cool! Thanks for posting this review!
    – Michelle

  2. I think the blue looks cool. I have wondered about these for awhile. Is it just me or are some of the lines more straight and some curved? Is that how your hand is placed or does that depend on how you hold the magnet?

    • Thanks! The magnet inside the cover is in a wave shape, but i think it just depends on where you place the magnet on each finger…it will vary I think. =)

Leave me a Comment!

