My 13 Best Beauty Discoveries of 2013!

photo made by the lovely Michelle of Pretty in the East

~

I’m excited to be a part of this year end beauty “link-up” post! 2013 has been a great year for me, I met Vivienne from Jolie Pagaille and she helped me with this whole blogging thing by letting me do guest posts on her blog, then a while later I started my own and have been having a blast ever since. I’ve met a ton of great ladies along the way and i’ve learned a lot too! I’ve tried not to include any products already mentioned in my previous Friday Favorites posts, but if you want to see what those are, you can view them HERE.

Here we go! I have listed my favorite beauty discoveries (in no particular order) of this past year, some of you you may have discovered these before but they were all new to me.

acure

photos from acureorganics.com

 1.) Hair Care– Acure Organics Lemongrass Shampoo and Conditioner– I got these a few months ago and I am just about done the bottles…that in itself is amazing and should tell you how awesome they are (I rarely finish shampoo and conditioners, it’s a little problem I have lol) These leave your hair so soft, clean and bouncy I rarely use any other type of hair styling product! Best Shampoo and Conditioner I have EVER used! They also make a Moroccan Oil line thats great for dry/damaged hair .

~

sea_salt_pdp_benefits-tips

photo from julep.com

 2.) Hair Styler– While we are on the subject of hair, Julep’s Sea Salt Spray is my favorite hair styler of 2013. I am lazy when it comes to styling my hair (I blame it on the kids 😉 )But this makes it so easy to get natural waves on my thin straight hair. I just spray it on towel dried hair and once its about 70% dry I finish drying it with a quick blow dry. Bonus: It smells great too!

~

photo from dermae.com

photo from dermae.com

3.) Exfoliator– Derma|e’s Microdermabrasion Scrub is the best exfoliator i’ve ever used. I received a 1oz sample in a past Ipsy bag and ordered more as soon as I ran out. It’s a thick paste with very fine beads, it’s kind of rough (but I like that) and when you rinse off your skin feels SO smooth! (I also sometimes mix a little bit with my regular face wash for a quick 2 in 1)

~

photo from glossybox.com

photo from glossybox.com

4.) Face Moisturizer– I just received a sample of this Naobay Oxygenating Moisturizer in my December Glossybox, but it has quickly become my favorite moisturizer of all time! (The only bummer is that it’s hard to find and expensive) It is light but still moisturizes skin, makes a great base for make-up and the best part is it doesn’t break out my skin (it might actually be helping it break out less!)

~

photo from neimanmarcus.com

photo from neimanmarcus.com

5.) Makeup Remover–  Anyone who had tried to take eye makeup off knows a good remover is key! I had won this amazing Orlane Gentle Eye make-up remover and I don’t know what I am going to do when I run out…it’s $50 a bottle and I know why. It removes make-up so easily, isn’t greasy, leaves no residue and DOENS’T sting my eyes, which is my biggest struggle with eye make-up removers! I need to find a cheaper alternative…let me know what your fave is!

~

photos from sallyhansen.com and zoya's FB page

photos from sallyhansen.com and zoya’s FB page

6.) Nails– I only started getting into nail polish this year so I know i’m a little behind the 8-ball on this one! I have used lots of Julep polishes (which are great) but I recently tried a bunch of Zoya’s and they are awesome. They have great wear time, a variety of finishes and are decently priced (at $8) and easier to find offline. Check out my past post on Zoya polishes HERE. ALSO included in my best of nails products is Sally Hansen’s No More Mistakes Clean-up Pen (comes with 2 replacement tips.)  It’s the best invention for getting a picture perfect mani! I know some ladies use a small makeup brush and polish remover, but I prefer this. I have also used the CVS brand pen and it’s not as good (the tips wear faster.) I also have a neat TIP for using this pen (i’m still on my first one I bought months ago.) To get the longest use out of this pen, use each tip until they end up breaking. (you need to wipe them off each time after removing your stray polish, I just keep a tissue handy to wipe off excess polish.) The pen will run out of remover, but I just use regular nail polish remover, take the cap and pour a little bit in. Then I just dip the pen in and use it like that…it will last SO much longer!

~

photos from tartecosmetics.com

photos from tartecosmetics.com

7.) Lip Product– These Tarte Lip Tints will always be in my favorites even though I first tried them before 2013. Every time I try a new color i’m in love all over again! They are just so easy to apply, smooth and comfortable on the lips and very nice pigmentation. My favorites are Carefree (no longer available) and Achiote. I just ordered Energy, which i’m very excited to try! They come in a wide variety of shades and finishes, sure to please anyone.

~

photos from sephora.com

photos from sephora.com

8.) Makeup Brushes– Sephora has a great collection of brushes! They have the more affordable Classic Collection and the more expensive Professional Series, but you can find great varieties in either category. The pro series brushes are extremely soft, dense and well made, the classic are slightly less soft/dense but they are still made well. I would check their sale section (sometimes there are random brushes on sale) or wait until they have a website promo going on if you want to get a good deal.

~

photo from cover girl's FB page

photo from cover girl’s FB page

9.) Foundation– I first tried Covergirl’s Outlast 3 in 1 Foundation through totalbeauty.com’s sampling program. It is the best drugstore foundation i’ve tried. It gives GREAT coverage, looks natural, lasts all day and it’s very nicely priced. I use my Sephora #45 brush to apply it and a little goes a long way! TIP: I also sometimes mix in a tiny bit of liquid highlighter (like Benefit’s High Beam) to give an extra dose of radiance to my foundations.

~

photo found on web

photo found on web

10.) Concealer– During my quest for an awesome foundation I came across theBalm’s Time Balm Foundation. While it was a little too heavy for my personal foundation taste, I discovered it works AWESOME as a concealer. It is super creamy and it gives full to medium coverage. I blend mine with a rounded eyeshadow blender brush and it really covers blemishes well! TIP: thebalm is often featured on hautelook.com for half price, so stock up on their awesome cosmetics then! (you can sign up for their email list to get reminders)

~

photo from sephora.com

photo from sephora.com

11.) Palette– I know the UD Naked 3 was the hottest thing to come out in 2013…but the Urban Decay Anarchy Face Case is my personal favorite! I just got this for Christmas and I love it, (sepreate review coming soon.) It has 5 beautiful shadows, an awesome liner, a killer lip crayon, 2 nice blushes and a highlighter! I just love that it has a little bit of everything…it’s available exclusively at Sephora and right now it’s on sale for $29!

~

photo from web

photo from web

12.) Fragrance– Apparently, fame IS addicting…Lady Gaga’s perfume might even be my favorite of all time…It’s very feminine, sexy and alluring. I wear frequently wear perfume but EVEY time I wear this one I get compliments. (mostly by guys , so if you are looking to attract a mate try this LOL) You can find it a lot of places like cvs, but right now Ulta has the 1 oz on sale for $17!

~

stock photo from ipsy.com

stock photo from ipsy.com

13.) Subscription ServiceIpsy is my #1 for this category and there is a few reasons why. First off is the value, the amount of products you get for just $10 a month constantly amazes me! It’s such a great way to try new products and I have found a lot of “loves” through ipsy. Also, their website and FB page is very interactive and friendly, you have the option to create “looks” on their site and be entered to win awesome prizes! They also do frequent giveaways on FB too…if you haven’t signed up for ipsy yet, get on it! I am rarely disappointed with a bag and if I don’t really LOVE it, I just remind myself it’s only $10!

One last TIP: In general, you can frequently find better deals shopping online. To maximize your savings ALWAYS start your web buying purchases through cash back or points programs like ebates.com or mypoints.com, especially during the holiday’s your points will add up quick. I go back and forth between the 2 and use which ever one is offering the best incentive. (Right now i have $20 cash back with ebates and 6,100 points with mypoints…the points can take a few weeks in “pending” mode but it’s like free money! 😉

So there you have it, my 13 FAVORITE beauty discoveries from 2013. I can’t believe the year is over, but I am SO looking forward to new adventures/friendships/partnerships in 2014. I am very happy to have met such a great group of blogging pals. ❤

HOPE EVERYONE HAS A HAPPY AND HEALTHY 2014!! 

Here are the other bloggers links that are also doing their 13 Best Beauty Discoveries of 2013…go see what they love:

get the InLinkz code

Vivienne at Jolie Pagaille – http://www.JoliePagaille.com

Michelle at Pretty in the Easthttp://www.prettyintheeast.wordpress.com

Jen at Dragonfly Reviews – http://dragonflybeautyreviews.wordpress.com/

Jenn at Little Bit of Girl Geekeryhttp://icedwavez.wordpress.com/

Christine at Simply Stinehttp://www.simplystine.com

Cheryl Hawley – http://theskinnyonbeauty.com/

Angela Watkins at The Makeup Whispererhttp://wp.me/p3Wf8e-fu

Nancy Taylor (Smokey) – http://jumpingmouse9.blogspot.com/

Thanks so much for reading, please follow me on bloglovin’ xoxo Kristina

Follow on Bloglovin

(*Post contains affiliate/referral links*)

19 thoughts on “My 13 Best Beauty Discoveries of 2013!

  1. I almost bought the Lady Gaga perfume, but I already have so many bottles of perfume that I decided against it. Also, I use Lancome Bi-Facil Double-Action Eye Makeup Remover. It’s $28 for 4.2 oz. SOMETIMES you can get it for free (or a smaller bottle) with purchase from Lancome. Or ask for a sample from Sephora.. I will warn you, it can be a little greasy, but it is very, very gentle. Another one is Sephora’s own waterproof eye makeup remover. It isn’t greasy and does a good job removing eyeliners and mascara. The price is pretty inexpensive, like, $10.50 for a 4.2 oz.

    • Awesome, thanks for the suggestions…i think i’ll try the Sephora one (or at least ask for some samples to test them!) Happy New Year 🙂

  2. Im an ipsy member too. I want to try the balm concealer I have almost bought it three times this year but I have so many and still no perfect HG but debating on using up what I have and making due before trying more but at half price I might be able to justify it lol

    Great list I agreed with several on there too!

    • haha! I know, sometimes I can’t justify my purchases…but if you see it on hautelook when you run out of your others I would get it. They do charge shipping, but it’s still cheaper! 🙂

    • 🙂 It’s like the one thing I will be repurchasing from them…besides Tracy, I love that polish and have a couple backups!

  3. Great beauty discoveries! I actually came across the same UD palette over Boxing Day at Sephora but opted for a Benefit palette. And instead made a mental note to myself to go back and get the UD one. Now you’ve got me yearning for it more! Will definitely go and seek this one out again😉

    • Thanks!! Yes, I love it…the lipstick in it is to die for…and I think it’s still on sale at sephora (and ulta too?) Happy New Year, thanks for reading!! 🙂

  4. I totally and completely agree with Zoya nail polish! Its seriously the best brand for the price with so many gorgeous colors and textures, plus 5 free! I also love the Tarte lippies!! I only own two brushes from Sephora (a foundation/powder brush and a bronzer/contour brush) but am super happy with them both! They are really high quality and Sephora sells tons op different options! The only thing I don’t like is the price but you get what you pay for with brushes! Happy New Year!

    • 🙂 I know Sephoras brushes are on the expensive side, but i’m going to be trying out some of those Real Techniques brushes from Simply Stine’s list. Happy 2014!!

Leave me a Comment!

