Studio Gear Cosmetics Review

I have some Studio Gear products to share with you today! I had honestly never heard of Studio Gear until I signed up for Brandbacker…Anyway, I received the primer and mascara sample through Studio Gear’s blogger partner program, and I received the CC Cream through brandbacker. Here is a little info about the Studio Gear brand before I start the review.

“In 1992, two former distributors of M.A.C. makeup, John Avolio and Steve Rohr, joined forces to create Studio Gear Cosmetics. Like M.A.C., their brand has professional makeup artists in mind, but unlike M.A.C., it doesn’t present such an imposing array of products to impress or overwhelm their customers. Instead, Studio Gear focuses on getting the basics right.” Besides their own website (which offers free shipping on US orders) you can find Studio Gear cosmetics in store or online at Ulta and Dillards.

First, i’ll review the Mascara and primer I received from Studio Gear:

SG header

Studio Gear sent me their 2 of their best selling products, the Prime Objective Primer and the Impactfull Mascara.

Primer: Website description is as follows: “Prime Objective Face Primer is a silicone-based face primer that not only smooths surface imperfections for an incredibly bright complexion, but it also includes rejuvenating ingredients such as retinol and milk protein 20 that condition, balance, and protect the skin from environmental stresses. Optical diffusers further enhance the complexion by lightening and brightening!”

Since the primer is silicone based, it feels like liquid velvet when applying it. (It’s pretty similar to Smashbox’s original photo finish primer.) You can see it has a slight pearl-essence  to it, and you only need the smallest amount to cover your face. This did work well at slightly blurring pores and it did help my makeup apply easier, however silicone based anything clogs my pores and makes me break out. So unfortunately I can’t use them long term. Price: $30 for 1 oz.

SG swatch Collage

Mascara description from website: “Impactfull Pro T.L.S. Mascara is a studio tested, high impact mascara that THICKENS, LENGTHENS, and SEPARATES the lashes, delivering maximum fullness and flare. Naturally derived collagen, hydrolyzed wheat protein, and antioxidants nourish and condition the lashes for added benefit.”

This mascara is awesome…the bristles are SO SOFT, that I had to feel them with my finger because they felt so nice on my lashes! The formula is very creamy and it does a great job at lengthening and separating lashes. There was no smudging or flaking and it stayed put all day and removed with ease. This might be my new favorite mascara! Price: $18

SG Collage

Next i’ll review the CC Cream sample I received through brandbacker.

SG CC cream Collage

Description from website: “Hydrating CC Cream transforms and enhances your complexion in an incredibly light, smooth formula. This foundation simultaneously fights aging, retains moisture, and covers and treats blemishes with a non-oily, perfectly radiant finish.”

Unfortunately, there was no way of choosing a specific shade through brandbacker, and they sent me the medium shade “natural” and it was a little too dark for my untanned winter skin 😉 I still tried it and found that it applies very evenly, but offers minimal coverage. I defiantly still had to use concealer to cover any acne spots. Even though the shade wasn’t right, it felt nice on and not cakey or heavy, i’ll be trying it again in the summer when I get a little more color! Price: $34 for 1 oz.

**Studio Gear has also given me a discount code to share with my readers! Use code  FEMININE13 at checkout to receive 10% off…and don’t forget, shipping is FREE on US orders 🙂

Have you tried or will you be trying any Studio Gear products??

Thanks so much for reading, please follow me on bloglovin’ xoxo Kristina

Follow on Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “Studio Gear Cosmetics Review

  1. I actually liked the CC cream and I usually hate that kind of stuff. I got my kit yesterday but haven’t had time to try it. I usually really hate primers… 🙂 thanks for the review. 🙂 if you go to studio gear’s website there is another place for bloggers to sign up but I saw that we could pick a lipstick or something else. I forget why we got these kits. on their website it says we get a free full size product of lipstick or mascara i think.

    • I saw that spot on their website and thats where I signed up…but when they emailed me back they said this is what I would be getting. Its fine though, i love the mascara!

Leave me a Comment!

